Some people feel that the government should pay the costs of running universities so that a university education will be free for anyone who wants it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many believe that the government should fund the costs of running universities so that people who are passionate can freely access higher education. While I believe this idea will have negative impacts on students because of the low quality of courses, I would argue free tuition fees will help contribute to the wealth of a nation. On the one hand, university costs run by the government will be inadequate to deliver a good lecture. Firstly, because academic lecturers are usually attracted by numerous benefits such as high salary packages, public universities in developing countries cannot afford to hire qualified teachers for specialized majors like doctors or aeroplane pilots. As a result, high school graduates who have a passion for these professional jobs cannot access the qualification, and therefore there will be a lack of professionals in those industries in the future. For example, Hue University in Vietnam cannot look for highly skilled lecturers who are able to teach surgeon subjects due to low-paid jobs. On the other hand, I believe the free tuition fee policy will help the labour market become more dynamic. This is because those who are shouldering financial burdens are likely to pursue their favourite courses. Therefore, the country will have a source of high skilled labour force in the long term in all areas. Moreover, free higher education assists the poor in getting the qualification for employment, thus getting rid of the poverty life. Consequently, this campaign will help society to reduce the rate of jobless. For example, many students admit they want to become IT developers but they cannot afford to pay the tuition fee. In conclusion, While I understand tertiary education costs paid by the government will attract less excellent teachers, I firmly think that this policy leading to free tuition fees will create opportunities for less wealthy individuals.