In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Customers have recently had the opportunity to obtain various products from different parts of the world in their local supermarkets. That has both some advantages and drawbacks. However, the prior outweighs the latter. I am about to explain both sides through this essay. To consider the positive side, it has enormous benefits to be capable of buying international products simply from your local grocery. Firstly, it is a great opportunity to get familiar with the other countries’ culinary culture. That is, you can easily have access to the required ingredients of foreign foods and thus taste new recipes. Secondly, this is a perfect chance for the farmers of developing countries to be appreciated and paid for their invaluable efforts. In other words, exporting your products to other nations is definitely a satisfying and efficient achievement for producers. On the other hand, there can be some negative points in this development. First of all, transporting all these products over long distances has disastrous impacts on the environment and is not echo-friendly at all due to the CO2 emissions. Furthermore, importing numerous edibles from different parts of the world with different hygienic standards can threaten social health as there cannot be strict supervision of them. In conclusion, providing international food in local supermarkets is both a positive and negative development. Air pollution and unhealthy rotten foods are some problems of that. However, I suppose it totally is a positive growth because it not only profits farmers financially but also gives people from different parts of the world the opportunity to taste new foreign foods.