Some people think that there could be more benefits to society if more people study business than history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, education has been a controversial topic that often divides opinion. While many people claim that learning about business administration is more beneficial to a nation, others believe that studying history is more advantageous. In my view, each sector serves a key role equally in developing a country. Firstly, it is worth considering that the world is promoting STEM education. For this reason, choosing the business sector can help students advance more easily in their lives. Research has found that there is an alarming shortage of STEM workers; therefore, if a pupil follows this path, he can have a greater opportunity to find a well-paid job. Besides, it is commonly believed that when learning economics, our critical thinking and cognitive skills can be significantly enhanced. This is due to the fact that the subjects in this field require learners to perform outstanding problem-solving and calculating abilities to analyse financial problems. As a result, business learners will become a generation with sharp and flexible mindsets to better serve their community. Secondly, history teaches us to treasure our country's background. Specifically, most countries had to experience wars in the past which can serve as a chance for each nation to realise their own weaknesses and strengths. Gradually, national leaders can come up with effective solutions to renovate the society they are living in. Moreover, by learning about such past events, millennials will understand how hard it was for the previous generations to protect the independence and freedom of their country. Consequently, a sense of patriotism will be instilled. Once they are empowered with a strong and profound love for their hometown, they will be more willing to serve the country when needed. For this reason, studying history is as important as learning business. To sum up, while working in the business field increases the chances of getting high-paying careers and sharpens one's cognitive skills, choosing history as a major helps create a patriotic generation and locates future plans from lessons learned in the past. To my mind, both sectors are of great importance.