In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that more and more people have a longer life is influencing many countries nowadays. While some people think it is good to see more elders living in our daily lives, it seems hat the high-aged population has a more passive impact on modern society. The reasons will be mentioned in the next paragraphs. To begin with, the ageing population leads to a higher pressure on the entire medical system. To be more specific, the need for medical skills is higher and higher, for example, doctors and nurses. However, it is hard to hire enough professional workers and manage them, which may lead a more pressure on the staff working in hospitals. As a result, young people need to spare their time to deal with caring problems, which is one of the difficult issues for every family. In addition, it is more common for elder workers to prolong their careers, which causes some serious problems. Firstly, young people do not have opportunities to get promoted, due to their supervisors not willing to leave their jobs. According to a recent survey, the retirement age has risen to over 75 years old, which indicates that more and more employees are still working now. Secondly, in a company, the older managers usually control much more power than others and make the important decisions even if these are related to some newest trends, while they do not understand any of them, such as Al, social media, and self-driving cars. Finally, the younger generation can not receive a higher salary but they still need to take care of their older families, which is a massive economic pressure. In conclusion, although elderly people are a crucial part of our society, the increasing number of old people not only causes the pressure for medical system but also for the workplace. As a result, according to the reasons above, it is not a positive phenomenon for our future.