Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects . Others say it causes the loss of national identities.Discuss both of these views and give your own opnion.

With tense relationships intensifying among countries, the pros and cons of globalisation have become a hot topic again. Some people argue that international communications will hinder the cultivation of national identities. This may sound plausible, but I do not completely agree with that. On the contrary, I believe it is globalisation that has shaped our national identities and led us to appreciate the diversity of the world. There might be little disputes if we argue that it is international communications that endow us with the opportunity to realise and appreciate the varieties of beauty. This is clearly exemplified in the comparison of ancient Greek sculptures and traditional Chinese paintings. The attraction of the former lies in their dexterity in creating illusions of reality through the use of foreshortening, while that of the latter mainly lies in offering an occasion for you to experience and reflect your own subtle feelings. Without cultural contact between different states, I could not see how we would experience the diversity of beauty without cultural interactions between nations. As for the criticism that business and cultural contact will undermine our sense of belonging to our countries, I do not think this is a reasonable assumption as history clearly indicates the opposite. Our conception of the nation did not exist until about the nineteenth century when nations with vastly different cultures encountered each other unexpectedly and gradually realised that "I" am peculiar, and there are others in unfamiliar places. Rooted in this perception, the concept of the national state has gradually become a common sense. It is easy to draw from the illustration that it is cultural and business contact, rather than isolation, that has shaped our patriotism. To summarize, in my eyes, globalisation has emancipated us from the obsession with ourselves and led us to a colourful world. It is living in such a diverse world that we have opportunities to realise our own peculiarities and develop national identities. Therefore, let us embrace globalisation, which has been a trustful friend for many years.