Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary era, several environmental issues have emerged as a result of the continuous using of modern technology. While some proponents believe that the most effective solution is to adopt a new and simple way of living, opponents have a diverse perspective. I am of the belief that people should become less dependent on modern technology if they want to mitigate the environmental dilemma. On one hand, at this age, many individuals have become completely dependent on technology; therefore, using modern alternatives is the most effective method to solve this problem. In other words, using electrical and hybrid cars rather than conventional vehicles and bicycles can significantly reduce the rate of pollution, as well as, help numerous individuals to save their time. This means that for labourers who work in remote locations saving time is something crucial; accordingly, they favour using hybrid cars instead of bicycles to reach their destinations faster and decrease the negative impact of vehicle exhaust, simultaneously. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by a group of Iraqi civil society activists who claimed that the level of air pollution has progressively decreased in the northern regions due to the use of hybrid cars by taxi drivers. On the other hand, a plethora of people believe that changing the way of living is the only available remedy to solve the environmental problem. To illustrate, there is a highly increasing level of air pollution in urban areas and the prime culprit is exhaust fumes. Thus, if individuals start to use simpler and bio-friendly commuting means instead of automobiles, there will be a sharp reduction in the amount of polluted air. As a result, the percentage of carbon dioxide along with its harmful impact on living creatures will decrease. For instance, in the Netherlands, after constructing new bicycle lanes to be used by commoners, the rate of air pollution has been reduced in direct proportion. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, I can assume that although modern technology has significantly changed the way of living for many people, it has a detrimental impact on our ecosystem at the same time; thus, adopting a new way of living without excessive reliance on technology is a critical factor in treating this serious problem.