Opinions on food are changing rapidly and there are many who believe that everyone should follow a vegetarian diet because it would have a positive impact on our health and the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

As time goes by, the number of vegans increases all over the world, especially in developed countries, and the reason could lie in the fact that people are becoming more and more aware of the environmental effects of this healthier lifestyle. Should everyone pursue this attitude toward the human diet? On the global aspect of this phenomenon, carbon emissions will reduced if the consumption of meat decreases. It is evidenced that a significant proportion of environmentally harmful gases like carbon dioxide are being produced by the activities of animal farms which are mostly responsible for providing meat for the daily dietary needs of citizens. In addition to that, animals are being sacrificed on a large scale because of this purpose. We have to take into consideration that we are not the only inhabitants of this planet, hence we must respect animal rights by avoiding killing them for our own benefit. This could be another reason that should lead us to reconsider our current dietary habits. On the individual side, vegetarian diets have proved to be more beneficial to our health. Recently published medical papers are showing that cardiovascular diseases, in particular, are less witnessed in those people who have avoided eating meals for several years. In conclusion, although it might take a long time for all humans to eventually decide to take vegetarian foods as their only source of nutrition, this is the only way to help our planet be a much better place for living, not just for us but for animals.