In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Horticulture goes way back to the pre-historic era, as it was one of the ancient occupations ever to exist up until today. With the development of the technologies as well as science agriculture is still one of the main incomes of many citizens as well as countries as there are lot of importing and exporting goods to every corner of the world. Through out the years, after addressing lot of challenges made to the nature, climate and the environment, still agriculture keeps moving forward. But the irony is that still there are people in some part of the world still suffer from hunger and malnutrition. In my opinion, this is not merely due to one reason but results of many simple yet crucial matters like politics, social and economic matters. A country’s government is responsible for their people ’s health and well-being. When a country has a poor and corrupted government, the allocation made for agriculture and the health of the people will be insufficient. For example, we know that some African lands have the highest rates of insufficient nutrition even though these countries used to harvest a lot of starchy foods in the past like potatoes and cassava. However, they are the most people who suffer from this pathetic situation despite having a rich soil to their advantage. This can be prevented by educating people to stand against governing bodies about stealing public assets by a leader who arises within the communities or with the influence by the UN, UNICEF or the International Labour Organization. Another reason for a nation to undergo hunger is that being victims of long-term war agendas. Their crops and lands are destroyed, lot of curfews imposed and men are being killed by the wars. Therefore, people have to depend on aid or dry rationales in order to survive. These are tight situations that have to be handled very smoothly by with the help of all the states and creating truce or grace periods with the fighting nations. A rare occasion yet deadly reason is having to experience a pandemic or an endemic. We all experienced the COVID pandemic and it affected horticulture harshly. This should be an eye-opener for all and all nations should have a sustainable approach to have a plan for a rainy day in the future situations. In conclusion, world hunger is a very unfortunate experience that could be solved by encouraging cultivation. In order to do so, we have to fight the hidden agendas of the government and people who are in power should invest more in cultivation.