Some people claim that arts such as painting and music cannot affect people’s lives directly. The government should spend money on other things. what is your opinion?

It is true that the questions of whether government should allocate money for other useful things instead of arts because of its negligible impact on people’s daily lives. While I acknowledge that arts may be favorable to some extent, I am of the opinion that funding for people’s basic needs and healthcare system are more beneficial. Firstly, it is reasonable that arts such as painting and music is advantageous to some extent. One of the major benefits which are derived from arts is that it may teach students about their own culture and history. In fact, history is a theoretical subject with traditional teaching methods which might not motivate students to actively engage in the interactive class activities. However, thanks to arts like drawings, sculpture or historical related songs, students might be aware of the importance of history and culture; therefore, they will study these subjects in earnest. Consequently, they can have a deep understanding of their own origins and national identities, leading to the higher levels of patriotism and civic duty. Despite the aforementioned benefits, there is no doubt that spending money into other pressing social issues is more favorable. One of the things which the government should channel money into is people’s basic necessities. Indeed, citizens in some countries are suffered from natural disasters which trigger many difficulties they have to struggle with on their regular basis. For example, the local in some areas affected severely by flood or typhoons often are faced with shortage of food or accommodations, proportionally being vulnerable to nutritional deficiency or disease. Hence, the local authorities should prioritize to tackle these problems over arts. Another one is healthcare system. In reality, public hospitals in rural areas are not equipped with modern medical infrastructure; thus, the locals are inclined to flock to metropolis’s hospitals to access high-quality medical services which might put a heavy strain on hospitals in urban areas. Therefore, the government should invest in healthcare facilities, reducing the imbalance among different areas. In conclusion, although arts may be advantageous to a certain degree by virtue of the artistic expression in terms of history and culture, I espouse the notion that the state’s budget investing in other things is more encouraging on the basis of the aforementioned reasons.