In many countries, most shops and products become identical. Some people think it is a positive development, while others believe it is a negative development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Due to globalization in many countries, most shops and products become similar. Whilst some people argue this to be a positive development, others think the opposite. Although I acknowledge the benefits of this trend, I strongly believe this to be a negative development. Thinking in terms of accessibility of international products in the cities, this change benefits individuals since they don't have to travel big distances to buy specific things because everything is found close by. Moreover, having the same international chains around the world, ensures the quality and reliability of the selling items, since they are most likely to be popular among the masses. This ensures greater customer satisfaction. All these things are beneficial for the individuals, however, the impact on the environment as well as the societies should be taken into consideration. Shipping and delivering tons of products to the shops is harmful to the environment. It would be much beneficial for the natural preservation as well as the local society if the product would be locally produced. Furthermore, having only international big chains means, that most amount of the income is going straight to the big headquarters of the organizations elsewhere and not to the community. Higher prices, and workforce from abroad result in negative changes in the economic stability of countries. There is a high risk of the local crafts and culture being forgotten thus effecting negatively on the cultural heritage, if all the attention and trends are coming from international markets. Therefore, in my opinion, identical shops as well as products cause greater problems in countries. In contrast, despite the obvious appeal of international products on the market everywhere, which benefits in many ways the customer, in my opinion, such change results in the problems of preserving the cultural heritage and crafts of the countries as well as causes economic problems since most of the money goes to international businesses.