More and more people are forgetting the meanings behind occasions, such as national celebrations. What do you think are the causes of it? What solutions do you suggest?

Traditionally, festivals were arranged to honour the occasion or an individual. However, in the modern world, people often misunderstand the actual meaning behind these celebrated days. It is argued that the main causes of this are the lack of reminders people receive in their day-to-day lives and the decreasing level of relevance of certain holidays to lifestyles in the modern world.To tackle these issues, Internet and television-related solutions will be analyzed for viability. Firstly, one reason why people forget the significance of certain occasions is that they are not regularly reminded. To counter this, an idea could be to use the landing pages of popular websites to remind people of the historical context behind celebrated occasions. For example, Google often alters the logo of its landing page to reflect culturally meaningful days. When people visit the site on holidays like Christmas or Nowruz, the Google logo is graphically altered to reflect the festivities, and visitors can click it to receive additional information on why the day is significant. As most people access Google on a regular basis, the effectiveness and educational value of this suggested solution can be seen. Another reason why people are forgetting the meaning of certain occasions is that these occasions are becoming increasingly less relevant to modern lifestyles. Successful efforts have been made to tackle this through government-sponsoring TV infomercials that explain the historical events connected to modern life. In Canada, for instance, most nationally syndicated television stations run a brief series entitled «A part of our heritage», which explains how historical Canadian events, such as the influx of migrants in the 1800s, acted as precursors to modern cultural practices. As this shows, television can be a very effective way to help people better see the meaningfulness of their national holidays. To sum up, website landing pages and dramatized history infomercials are effective ways to help people understand the relevance of the holidays they celebrate. It is thus hoped, that these strategies are put into place everywhere to stimulate historical literacy.