Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Urbanization has led to numerous problems, like illegal encroachment on the natural environment, water scarcity, and improper waste disposal. The illegal disposal of waste has led to severe problems, like pollution. The solution for this problem could be solved by proper solid and liquid waste disposal system and water scarcity could be sorted out by solutions like rain water harvesting. The problems due to rapid urbanisation is the encroachment of natural environments like paddy fields, forests, etc. This could lead to further depletion of biodiversity. The improper disposal of liquid and solid waste could lead to pollution. This could harm the other beings living in that particular area. The construction of high-rise bulidings has led to shortage of water supply. The solution to the problem could be done through proper urban planning by the government. The building communities should promote a proper waste disposal system. The people living in the particular area should plant more native or local plants and trees to stop the depletion of biodiversity. In summary, urbanization leads to a higher standard of living and provides good job opportunities for people in urban centers. Nevertheless, if it is not done with a vision of proper planning it could create heath problems and it could also damage the natural environment.