Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It has been argued that one of the best outcomes for traffic congestion and air pollution problems is increasing the price of fuel. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this idea and will explain it further. On the other hand, the higher price of petrol makes vehicle users convert their transportation mode. Workers as the biggest user of private transportation will begin to use Trans-Jakarta, LRT or MRT and soon the problems might be solved. However, traders also need to deliver their kinds of stuff by cars or trucks as a result, this will lead to other problems such as increasing daily grocery prices and also will be followed by the increase in other services prices. Another possible solution to cope with this problem is converting the type of vehicles into more environmentally friendly ones. Some companies have developed electric vehicles which enable them to run without gas emissions thus means the reduction of air pollution. Additionally, allowing half of the employees of the company to work from home is the best answer to reduce the traffic jam. For example, some companies in Jakarta have been scheduling workforce arrival to office and 3 days office workday. These rules will be applied interchangeably to minimize the number of cars or other vehicles in the street, especially during rush hours. In conclusion, despite accomplishing the problem, raising the fuel price can lead to higher daily service and material prices so it would be better to change the transportation mode in electric vehicles and companies to adjust the regulations for the employees’ office attendance.