Due to the influence of world-wide media such as television and computers, the gap between cultures is narrowing. The introduction of this global culture is of great benefit to the world. To what extent do you agree with this point of view?

Because of worldwide media, the gap between cultures is getting smaller. While I accept the process of introducing the global culture has helped eliminate the discrimination among nations, I would argue this process would lead to the extinction of different cultures. On the one hand, it is valid that the world has become flatter as a result of advanced technology. Firstly, as children have access to many overseas TV program channels via the Internet, they start to learn new languages to help them better understand the content, which partly shapes their perception of the world. In addition, young people now can easily enjoy many media recreational activities such as movies or games, so this is a great opportunity for them to observe different traditions and human behaviours without travelling. As a result, all of the mentioned ideas can contribute to a mutual understanding and trust among people, which helps remove discrimination. On the other hand, I believe traditions and norms can be on the verge of extinction due to the process of globalisation. Primarily, since juveniles are often impacted by global trends via worldwide media, they could tend to copy negative behaviours without the realization. For instance, Vietnamese pupils usually listen to trendy songs although the lyric is not suitable for Vietnamese culture. Moreover, traditional norms will also be severely affected if more individuals opt for following the Western lifestyle thanks to the global culture. Consequently, this will lead to the disappearance of many distinct cultures in the long term. In conclusion, though I understand that global culture can be beneficial in many ways, I believe that its impact will cause danger to many traditional cultures.