In many countries, it is very easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, this causes some people to have problems with debts they cannot pay back. Do you think the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

Credit cards are a blessing and a curse. They can be used to help you pay your bills, however the interest on them can make them more of a hassle than they are worth. Consequently, some people believe that these modes of payment can cause devastating debt. My opinion is that they are valuable when used correctly, but a sinking ship is in the hands of the untrained. The advantages of credit cards are many. They can be used to transfer balance, and pay bills and when used smartly, they can improve your credit score. My personal experience with credit cards has been this way. For instance, I used a credit builder to increase my credit score and simultaneously pulled myself out of debt. Obviously, I had to manage my finances and ensure I was meeting my targets, otherwise, it could have easily gone the other way. On the other hand, the disadvantage is that short-term solutions can plunge one into the pits of debt if they are not repaid in a timely manner. Moreover, this can worsen the credit score and make life difficult as landlords and brokers check credit history before approving applications. For example, a friend of mine was made redundant and had enough savings to last her 4 months. She relied on credit cards and ended up with a poor credit score as she was unable to find a job. When she was able to find a job in a nearby city, she was unable to find a rental property due to her plummeting score and thus she was stuck in a spiral. In conclusion, I believe the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages. They are a valuable tool and their benefits can only be appreciated by the learned. Thus, those taking out a credit card have a responsibility to self-educate before filing an application. If they choose not to do so, they must face the consequences.