Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Some people are debating over whether there should be free public accommodation in most big cities. This essay will provide a positive and negative side of freeing public transportation fees. Most people love freebies, including free accommodation; this will encourage citizens to use public transportation rather than using personal vehicles. Traffic jams have been an issue in most big cities, caused by people ’s reluctance to use public transport mode, so many personal cars are on the road at rush hours when it is only used by one person. Promoting public transportation by giving free rides will attract people to experience its convenience and save their transport budget. For example, in Surabaya, there is a Feeder, a minivan operating on designated routes, giving citizens a free ride. The number of people using it has started to increase since the beginning of 2023, showing peoples' interest in using public transport mode. On the other hand, by providing free rides for the public, the government should be ready to spend a lot of money on this. While promoting public transportation is important, the government with a limited budget, also has more significant problems such as poverty. For instance, around 20% of people in Surabaya are still living below the standard. This phenomenon could raise social problems such as robbery, and it is proven by its number has been rising since April 2023. In conclusion, free public accommodation is a good campaign to lessen the level of traffic, which is a common problem in almost every major city. However, the government should carefully allocate its funds whether investing in more urgent matters or this program.