Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A plethora of people think that the major problem concerning the nature nowadays refers to the extinction of some of the flora and fauna representatives, while others believe that there are other sufficient difficulties, like the air pollution and the violated ozone layer. I agree with the latter statement, as it concerns every creature on the planet and could lead to catastrophic consequences. On the one hand, if some animal or plant species extinct, this will break the balance in their areas and habitats. Moreover, it will lead to major unpleasant changes in the environmental world. For instance, in 2020, there was a research about a specific fish, called salmon, which lives in the North Pole's waters and whose population is dramatically decreasing through the years caused by overfishing. Scientists from the National Finland University say that if this trend continues, salmon will extinct and this will lead to the death of many other animals who will starve without their main source of food. On the other hand, worldwide problems like carbon dioxide contamination and, resulting from it, the violation of the ozone layer are endangering our entire ecosystem and are far more dangerous in both short and long terms. For instance, doctor Stuart Bear from the Boston University said in 2021 that there is s 65% increase in skin cancer among people all over the world because the quantity of harmful sun rays, passing through the thinner ozone layer, is growing immensely. In conclusion, in my opinion the loss of species and air pollution are both major problems for our environment, but the second one creates risks in many more areas in our lives.