What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city?

Some people believe that living in big cities can be extremely beneficial compared to rural areas, while others think the disadvantages outweigh all the benefits. It is argued which way of living is better. This essay will shed some light on the issue and highlight the main pros and cons. Firstly, modern cities provide an enormous number of amenities in terms of accommodation, schooling, and shopping for households. Each big city has numerous grocery stores, schools, hospitals and amusement facilities, which are tremendously helpful on a daily basis. For instance, an average person in a typical city needs approximately fifteen to forty minutes to reach a tax office or a bank by car these days to have all their tasks done. So, living in a big town may be very helpful to solve daily problems. On the other hand, the lack of reasonably-priced accommodations is forcing people to live in small bedsits, and such things, in turn, take their toll on modern humans' health. According to several statistical studies conducted at the University of North Perth, an average person must pay off a mortgage for a 55-square-meter one-bedroom flat for twenty-three years. Moreover, in overcrowded cities like Singapour, this forecast doubles. Given all these perspectives, living in a big city no longer looks so great. To sum up, living in a densely populated city has its benefits and drawbacks, and each individual nowadays should take a long hard look at the issue before making a final decision to live or not to live in attractive megalopolises.