Many people find it hard to balance their work with other part of their lives. What is the reason for this? How can this problem be overcome?

Over the course of the last decades, a great number of individuals have had difficulties maintaining a healthy relationship between professional and personal life. Although it is clear that ever-increasing workloads and living in a materialistic era are the main reasons behind this imbalance, the joint effort of both governments and ordinary people can be a great contribution to mitigate the side effects of such a problem. Admittedly, there are various factors that have a direct impact on work-life balance. Initially, in spite of major improvements in technology, many people still have to work hard so as to meet unrealistic deadlines. Therefore, they are so busy and fail to pay adequate attention to other parts of their lives. For instance, a recent study at Harvard University discovered that more than 65% of employees complain about their work conditions and their effects on their relationships. Moreover, the expenses of living in many parts of the world have increased considerably and some individuals fail to cover their expenses without working around the clock, which lessens the quality of their lives on the whole. In order to reduce the imbalance between work and private life, some measures should be taken. Firstly, some boundaries that limit working hours, should be established. In other words, people should avoid work-related tasks after leaving the workplace. Secondly, governments should take immediate action to reduce inflation and prices. As a tangible example, the Indian government reduced the living expenses in Delhi by 14% last year, so even if a person does not receive a high income, he or she has the opportunity to live a decent life. Consequently, the importance of work-life balance cannot be neglected in modern societies. Since working on tighter and tighter deadlines and high costs of living are two leading elements of this problem, taking control of inflation and shorter working hours can be effective in addressing this issue.