There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music is food for the soul. I believe everyone has heard this quote. We are exposed to a variety of music each with their own sweet flavor, genre and style. While some people may find the sheer amount of published albums confusing and unnecessary, others believe that the more is the merrier. As mentioned, Music comes in different categories. one of which is “traditional”. This is what brings tears to the eyes of public; a symbol of pride. While mainstream international pieces might be more popular, a quick path to entertainment, traditional pieces arguably connect with and sooth the soul. Catchy lyrics replaced with deep meaningful counterparts. But which one is more important? There is no set answer. There will always be divergence in taste and preference and this is no different: simply a matter of satisfying personal taste or rather; personal needs. As music is also a tool. Similar to every other tool, what makes the most impact is the way one uses it. Music could be a form of meditation or a means to encourage and motivate. It had been used in a variety of occasions throughout the history: from festivals to funerals, a much needed and powerful asset to lift the spirits or crush them. We may not be fighting to the sound of drums anymore but our much greater inner battles need music to march to. Writing a song and composing a melody is a way to convey a unique experience of the world both for the artist and the listeners. In short, it is as much art as it is entertainment.