Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is often thought that studying in single-sex school provide children with the chances to learn academic information, other people claim that students tend to be more social when they study in a different-sex school. In my opinion, I consider that studying in co-education environment provide students with more benefits. On the one hand, according to some, same-sex school tend to let students perform well in academics because they may be able to relax when people around them are the same gender. That is to say, children who are surrounded by the same sex would not feel the differences from others; therefore, they could have freedom to show themselves. For example, some people may worry about the physical gap between two genders when they have a PE lesson. Thus, student can enjoy a similar learning environment which push them to do better. Furthermore, it is maintained that children could pay more attention on study. This is because they would be attracted easily by different genders which would influence their studies and concentration. On the other hand, some may claim that mixed schools help to enhance the social skills of students, and I agree. One reason is that same-sex schools do not prepare children for the real world. In other words, students only have the opportunity to communicate with the same gender which would lead to the problem of feeling shy or scare to talk with different genders. For instance, the majority of girls who study in single-sex schools would only prefer to talk with females as they do not know how to socialize with boys. As a result, children would improve their abilities to communicate. Another reason why people have such a view is that boys and girls think differently. Each gender would have differing motions of thinking; hence, it can help children enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizons by absorbing various opinions. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that students could expand more knowledge and skills when they study in a co-education phenomenon. If both parents and children collectively agreed on a school, children would have a comfortable environment and led them to perform well in their studies.