Indvidual greed and selfishnesss have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more treaditional values of respect for the family and local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, greed and selfishness have become increasingly common in modern society. It is often thought that we have to come back to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and local communities so as to create a better world to live in. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement because traditional values can help individuals not to be greedy and selfish. Firstly, customs and traditions are the most important things which can help the community to get better. In other words, by following the culture and traditions, people will value everyone around them, and as a result, they will not only think about themselves but also the people around them including their family and friends. For example. Young Libyans who follow their tradition and customs will always improve themselves along with their community unlike those who do not practice their culture. Hence, this will clearly help to build great societies. Secondly, when people return to their culture, it will undoubtedly help to preserve the culture for the next generation. That is to say, people will continue the practice even if it is after a century. With this, there is no doubt that people will not be selfish any longer because every culture gives a message to its people that living in this world is not easy with greed and selfishness. For instance, in most Arabic cultures, children have been trained to give what they have to others even if they do not have enough of something. This will give awareness to everyone that people cannot live a happy life without cooperation. To sum up, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that following cultures and traditions can be helpful to ensure that people live together happily without being selfish. Parents should cultivate the importance of their culture and traditions to their children so that they will not be selfish in the future.