Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are people who believe that demolishing old buildings in order to construct new ones is better than spending money on restoration and maintaining old buildings. I am of the opinion that society should save some of the old houses, so I partly disagree with the following statement. On the one hand, knocking down old constructions is bad for the look and history of the city. Most old buildings reflect its history of development, for instance, a certain house or even street might have been designed by a particular architect who was living in the city during a certain era, and, therefore, introduces different things which took place back then. Thus, demolishing a certain part of the historic block means destroying historical and cultural heritage, which leads to irreversible loss of part of the history. Moreover, a major consequence of such actions towards historical buildings is a city becoming less attractive for tourists, and, therefore, economy would have no profit. On the flipside, due to a rapidly changing lifestyle, some old constructions may be no longer available for some new conveniences such as air conditioning, plumbing and so on and cannot be reconstructed for new purposes. Furthermore, a lot of buildings, especially those which were built in the 50s of the 20th century, have neither architectural, nor cultural value, and are considered outdated. So there is no reasonable reason to spend too much money to renovate them. In summary, it is worth spending money on only those buildings which have value in matters of architecture, history and culture. Personally, I stand for saving part of the old houses and establishing modern ones for living.