The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has led to many social problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern world, the usage of technology is constantly on the rise. Everyone nowadays equips themselves with a smartphone as an all-in-one device for both work and entertainment needs. It is disagreed that the rise of mobile phone users is leading to many social problems. Analysing the development of telecommunication systems, as well as the many benefits of smartphones will prove this. Firstly, the rise of telecommunication systems has reduced the distance of connection between people around the world. For instance, family members can easily connect to their loved ones in any corner of the world with a simple phone call. Additionally, with the growth of the Internet, phone calls can be upgraded to video calls, where people can share their experiences from a place they are currently visiting while talking to their friends at the same time. As a result, writing letters and sending postcards are being replaced by social network posting and high-quality video-sharing platforms. Secondly, it is undeniable that smartphones nowadays can replace many personal needs from work to entertainment. For example, we can take a bus to school while listening to our favourite song on the phone at the same time. Furthermore, with the vast resources on the Internet nowadays, smartphones have become our gateway to the world with a simple tap on the screen. Therefore, the benefits smartphones bring to humans outweigh their drawbacks. In conclusion, the rise of mobile phone use is an inevitable trend as it was a result of many years of the development of telecom networks and the adaption of users' behaviour. Therefore, the idea of social problems caused by mobile phones cannot be supported. After a thorough analysis of this subject, it is predicted that this trend will continue to rise in the future and smartphone users will only increase year by year.