Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At present, some kids use their mobile phones daily for many hours because this digital equipment provides more opportunities to connect with the world easily. However, I believe this can impact the children's growth negatively since they lose their ability to imagine. Therefore, I will examine the reasons and how it affects children badly in this essay. The most significant reason for using smartphones regardless of the time limit is it provides youngsters with a way to build relationships with the world so easily. Because they can get to know or even communicate with a stranger who lives in the other corner of the country through apps like Facebook and Messenger. For example, teenagers tend to make romantic relationships on the Internet even though the other person has not seen them with eyes. Therefore, the availability of loads of options in a single cellphone keeps children addicted to it for hours. Having said that, the biggest issue of overusing phones is children lose their imaginative power. As phones have everything visually on the screen, kids do not try to use their imaginations to visualize things. For instance, today's children do not read novels which give them the ability to imagine, but instead, they scroll down on digital screens. Hence, I believe,it can lead to serious negative drawbacks on the imagination abilities of kids. In conclusion, kids spend more and more time on phones because of its easiness of reaching people very quickly although I believe the negativities such as loss of imagination will eventually cost their growth badly.