Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and practice them with basic assistance, such as food and housing.To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The opinion is divided regarding whether developed and resource-rich nations should provide basic resources such as food and shelter for asylum seekers. Some believe that assisting refugees is the moral and ethical responsibility of such countries while others say such a move will drain the host countries' resources. From my point of view, I do not think there is any obligation for such nations to help people coming from underdeveloped parts of the world. Firstly, nations that accept refugees out of deep compassion are usually hit with an increase in violent crimes including rapes, murder, and robbery. This results from differences in cultures, lack of integration into the host nation, and a disproportionate number of asylum seekers with criminal records. Secondly, there is a lack of international collaboration and burden-sharing in the refugee crisis, resulting in very few nations taking the majority of the refugees. The finance and the manpower needed for these nations to overcome the crisis have become so high that they need to divert funds from their welfare programs meant for their citizens namely healthcare, education, and care of the elderly. This has resulted in resentment from different corners of the society. Finally, if a significant number of refugees enter a nation they in turn can change the traditional social, cultural, religious, and sometimes even the political environment of a nation. This can be disturbing for the native people of these countries. To conclude, even though there is a moral responsibility for developed nations to protect and give asylum to people coming from developing and war-affected nations, this should not be an obligation, but rather a choice, where nations help such people own their accord without causing much of a disruption to its people.