IELTS Writing task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Write an essay with at least 250 words

There has been significant discourse surrounding the proposal for scientific research to be conducted by governments rather than private entities. While some would argue the opposite on the grounds that it engenders greater innovation, I contend that governments can conduct better research as they are less susceptible to corporate influence. Admittedly, there have been cases where privately funded scientific research has stimulated innovation. Individuals who conduct research on the behalf of commercial interests are typically encouraged to think creatively in developing new solutions to pervasive problems. For instance, SpaceX is a for-profit corporation that is leading its competitors in terms of innovating space travel. Founded and managed by tech magnate Elon Musk, it has introduced new solutions to existing problems in space transportation such as reducing production costs on their rockets by using 3D printing technology and mass production methods. Furthermore, SpaceX has pioneered the utilization of reusable rockets as half of them have flown more than once with little to no refurbishment. From this case, it can be understood why some argue commercial entities should be in charge of conducting scientific research. However, the case for governments conducting scientific research is stronger. With private companies conducting such research, they are more predisposed to financial incentives since they are primarily driven to boost profits. In contrast, governments conduct scientific research often with the altruistic aim of finding solutions to various societal problems in their respective nations. To cite an example, a private medical firm in Ghana was tasked with conducting research and producing 600,000 doses of their own COVID-19 vaccine. However, these doses did not meet WHO standards after testing as a result of the research process being rushed to maximize profits. It was only when the Ghanian government intervened to replace the previously made doses with their own newly certified products that the public finally felt at ease. In conclusion, although privately sponsored scientific research has an important place thanks to the competition that drives innovation, I believe that government sponsored research exerts a more positive impact on society and the public good. In the near future, it can be predicted that the scientific community will be able to welcome more scientific breakthroughs thanks to the funding of the state.