People are wearing western-style clothes rather than more traditional clothes. Why is this? Is it a negative or positive development?

There is no denying that Western-style clothes play a predominant role in modern society, largely influenced by historical reasons and the convenience of these clothes. As long as the concept of a global community is considered, I hold the view it promotes a positive development. First and foremost, the popularity of clothes designed in Western styles in the current world stems from the historical evolution in the last century, which significantly reshaped the order of the world in terms of military, economy, and modern culture. In other words, western countries, including the UK and the USA, became a leading role and guided the progression directions for the rest of the world. For this reason, the clothing culture and other advanced knowledge, such as political and education systems, were widely spread to the Eastern world, such as China. In addition, the proliferation of Western-style clothes is often due to their convenience, facilitating a prevalent use in a wide range of scenarios. For instance, T-shirts and shorts are easy to wear and remove without any complicated dressing process, whereas the majority of traditional clothes in Eastern countries, including China and Japan, are too complex for daily use. Considering the accelerated pace of modern people's lives, this trait of clothing, therefore, is given considerable importance. Finally, the ripple effect of this trend extends beyond the individual, cultivating a common modern clothing culture that promotes a sense of identification around the world. That is to say, clothes can be regarded as a universal language, allowing people from different ethnic groups to raise a feeling of similarity that sets a basis for further cultural communication and mutual understanding. In conclusion, world history and the practical convenience of Western clothes drive the current world to choose them for daily use. The uniform concept of the clothes brings evident advantages in terms of building an earth village, enabling people to establish common ground regardless of diverse backgrounds.