Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals presents the view that each type of criminal activity needs a defined punishment, while others believe that other factors such as the crime's circumstances and driving force for involving in crimes need to be taken into consideration before making decisions on the severity of the punishment. Personally, I strongly agree with the latter argument. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that considering various parameters before imposing punishments should be possible. Should governments enforce flexible rules and regulations, they not only improve standards of living but also create a more close-knit community. Sometimes having no choice and being responsible for supporting families can lead to committing minor crimes, such as shoplifting. I think, sending these people to jail only worsens the situation. Although forgiving such people and providing them with decent job opportunities are not punishments for their criminal activities, these measures can act as deterrents that leads to a better community. On the other hand, another group claims that if one poses a threat to society, they should be punished, regardless of circumstances and reasons because their behaviours may encourage involvement in crimes. They firmly insist that all kinds of crimes should be punished severely so as to reduce the crime rate. However, I do not find this argument convincing as it is through education that we people can be taught to stay safe. For example, children who are aware of the consequences of committing crimes are more likely to think twice before engaging in illegal activities. Therefore, it can be a wise idea that governments invest in education and raising public awareness rather than punishments. To conclude, in my view, taking into account enforcing flexible laws prior to deciding on punishments can lead to a higher standard of living. Moreover, investing in education and raising public awareness about the risks of participating in crimes can be considered.