Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, howevr, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals presents the view that it is parents' responsibility to teach children the ways they can help society, while others claim that children should be taught it at school. I strongly agree with the latter argument. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that should we want to have a compassionate and understanding community, schools are the best place that can contribute. In other words, pupils are provided with opportunities to become familiar with key concepts, such as critical thinking abilities, being a good team player, and interpersonal skills, assisting them in being productive members of the community living in. Furthermore, it is an undeniable fact that teachers benefit from more knowledge and resources compared with others. Thus, in my view, whether considering the environment or thinking about the expertise of teachers, it can be concluded that schools should be selected for this purpose. On the other hand, another group claims that parents should not put strain on schools because moral values and social skills can be introduced by families. They firmly insist that educational centres should only focus on curriculum instead of personal growth. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as parents have tight schedules and they have to meet several deadlines, therefore, they find it difficult to dedicate a sizeable amount of time for educating their kids on how to be a valuable asset to society. Moreover, some skills, leadership skills, for instance, call for being in touch with peers, which is obviously impossible at home. For example, a friend of mine who had been homeschooled suffers from poor communication skills and fails to find a decent job because he faces difficulties developing effective relationships with others. To conclude, in my opinion, schools play a vital role in educating a student on how to be an effective person. It is clear that teachers, who are experts, should undertake this significant responsibility. In addition, developing some skills necessitates being connected with peers, which can be easily done in schools.