Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent years have witnessed serious environmental degradation with different problems. Some people consider the loss of important species of plants and animals to be the main issue we have to be concerned about, while others argue that there are more serious problems. There are several key reasons why some people think that the loss of particular creatures is the most primitive environmental problem. Firstly, the number of wild animals and plants has been decreasing alarmingly, and some are in extinction, reducing biodiversity and the natural balance. Secondly, preserving extinct animals is becoming a prioritized goal in national strategies to protect the environment and previous life forms towards sustainable and comprehensive development. Although the damage to natural species is a challenge we have to deal with, I believe that climate change and waste are more severe issues. Temperature heating causes forest fires which kill thousands of trees and animals annually. Due to sea level rise, habitable areas are gradually shrinking, often for some of the poorest groups. For example, there are a large number of poor people who reside on the coast of the Hong River or Cuu Long River in Vietnam. Besides, the human population is ever-increasing, producing greater quantities of household waste that contaminates the earth and pollutes rivers and oceans. In conclusion, the loss of a particular species is an environmental problem, however, we need to prefer to solve others that directly have a more devastating effect on the planet, such as climate change and waste. If both issues continue, we are likely to struggle with the lack of food and habitats in the near future.