Writing task 2 task 2 IELTS 17 Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is an undeniable fact that today adults spend too little time with their children, causing many children to start spending more time on phones instead of other things and social activities. In my opinion, smartphone addiction has a negative impact on their health and social life. Basically, the intriguing content offered by social networking applications and video games are the main reason why children are increasingly addicted to their phones. We can mention some applications like Facebook or TikTok. I do not claim that it is completely bad, but somewhere on this application, there is still content that is not suitable for children. Regarding the games, they are set up as a cycle. When we finish playing a level, it will ask if we want to play again. If we continue, we will repeat the same cycle until completion. Because every child is curious and wants to win, they may continue to play, leading to serious phone addiction. In the past, when phones only had some basic features such as calling and texting, we could see very few children addicted to phones like today. Turning to detail, this trend could have a negative impact on children's health. The blue light of mobile phones is harmful to the eyes, causing various problems such as eye irritation and poor vision. Furthermore, long-term mobile phone addiction can lead to many health problems, such as fatigue and sleep disorders. Children who are addicted to their phones will have very few in-person friends, causing their communication, solving problems, and problem-solving skills to gradually decline. A recent study by Northwestern University, USA also showed that people who focus on mobile phones for 68 minutes or more a day are at risk of depression, due to lack of communication. Children who use phones for long periods of time are also susceptible to negative emotions, impairing their eyesight and affecting the brain. Another serious consequence is the creation of attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder. In short, the smartphone, a wonderful invention by humankind, can be either a beneficial or harmful tendency depending on how we make use of it. Using phones too much affects children's development and future, creating more problems in society. Although youngsters nowadays own their smartphones and use them appropriately such as studying reflects a notable development in both technology and economic fields, it reflects the reality that parents do not pay sufficient attention to their children.