Many children no longer read books and instead spend their time using modern technology. While some people think this is a positive trend, others think it is a problem. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

These days, with the increasing development of technological advancements, it has become common for a child to utilise digital devices rather than paper books. Some argue that this tendency detrimentally affects children's social life, while others think the opposite. This essay will explore both viewpoints, and provide my own opinion in the conclusion. On the one hand, the Internet offers young individuals a variety of resources and services for educational and entertainment purposes. Additionally, social media is quite convenient due to its easy access, so that the child communicates with their friends without leaving their homes. For example, the most renowned social media "Facebook", offers a great opportunity for chatting and building new relationships with others via online games. Moreover, by reading online stories and watching educational videos, young students can stay informed acquiring new knowledge in their comfort zone. Therefore, online sources are an effective and convenient way to educate and entertain young learners. On the other hand, reading stories with parents leads to the connection between a child and a parent, because the parents lead the process by asking questions and introducing characters. Prioritising laptops and computers over books does not help improve relationships with close ones, as the child is more focused on exploring things on their own. Furthermore, participating in virtual communication only can prevent the child from making friends in real life which adversely affects their social skills. For instance, it was observed that those kids who interact with others online for more than four hours daily have social barriers to joining a new group of peers and building new connections. As a result, the lack of real-life activities with others causes social issues and difficulties in participation in experiences, such as interviews or work meetings in the future. In conclusion, excessive use of digital devices negatively affects social aspects of a child's personality, whereas reading books only prevents the child from engaging in innovative practices. In my opinion, when parents assist their children with reading stories as well as utilising modern technologies, it creates a balanced approach that needs to be followed.