Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime.

So debatable have those approaches become that many now question which is the better option. Some individuals think that implementing a longer confinement-based punishment is the optimal solution to diminish crime, while others argue that alternative approaches may be a more effective way to tackle illegal acts. There are arguments on both sides of this debate, which I will elaborate on below. On the one hand, there is a belief that long-term detention can resolve criminality effectively. First, longer duration of sentences might provide the deterrent effect, causing potential offenders to consider the consequences twice before committing an unlawful activity. Taking some states in the US as an illustration, there is the introduction of “three-strikes” laws – which implement life imprisonment after three serious violations. This approach reduces repeat offences because of a long-term imprisonment policy. In addition, the extended periods of incarceration can increase feelings of safety for the victims. For instance, a rapist often causes a sense of trauma for the victim; therefore the longer sentences are considered as a form of justice reflecting equitable punishment. On the other hand, the opponents of the former method feel that there are other superior strategies to lessen illegal activities. Firstly, rehabilitation, such as education programs, job training, and counselling, would be a better way to improve the possible offenders’ quality since it is believed that prison can aggravate the offenders’ behaviour because of gathering with fellow lawbreakers without any program to improve themselves. Should this approach be implemented, the quantity of crime will decrease. Furthermore, completing various public amenities – such as installing more street lights as well as CCTV and providing police patrol – is also viewed as an effective strategy for reducing criminality. Subsequently, the lawbreakers will stop themselves from committing lawlessness due to the high potential of being caught. In conclusion, while long-term imprisonment may serve as a deterrent and provide justice for victims, it does not always address the root causes of crime. It seems to me that providing rehabilitation and complementing public facilities are the better way to lessen criminal activities.