Parents often give children everything they ask for and do what they like. Is it good for children? What are the consequences when they grow up?

Indulging children has become a common parenting problem in many modern families. From a short-term perspective, this practice may slow down the process of children developing essential life skills. From a long-term standpoint, this may cause a sense of overdependence among children. In the short term, it is possible that over-indulgence causes some delay to the process in which children learn important life skills. This can be seen in a variety of age groups, ranging from toddlers to teenagers. In Vietnam, for example, many over-caring parents spoon-feed their children until they are five or six, the developmental stage in which they should have already been able to eat independently. It is a common practice that parents assist their preadolescent children in taking a bath or a shower. These children, as a result, may fail to acquire basic personal hygiene skills at the right time. In the long run, the consequences are even direr as over-indulged children grow up. If parents satisfy all the needs of their children unconditionally, they may inadvertently make the children become over-reliant on them. When these children enter adulthood, the inability to live independently can cause some difficulties for them to maintain their overall well-being, such as not knowing what to do when they catch a fever. It is also a problem that over-indulgent parents are often lenient and do not require children to face the consequences of their misbehaviour. This deprives children of the opportunities to learn from mistakes, which may cause their problem-solving skills to be severely lacking in the future. From the issues outlined above, one can conclude that overindulgence may produce a number of unfavourable effects on children, including the delay in gaining crucial life skills such as self-feeding and the long-term consequence of lacking the ability to cope with problems as adults in the future. It is recommended that no parents should overindulge their offspring.