In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With a higher level of mobility in the modern world, movements to and fro within a country have become more prevalent than in the past. Particularly, the phenomenon of movement from rural to urban areas has aroused much controversy among various circles. Although there are good arguments in favour of the movement, I personally believe that the movement is a negative development as a whole. Among all the reasons for supporting the stance, the foremost reason is that the movement from rural areas to urban areas can undeniably create the problem of overpopulation in cities. It should be noted that the impact brought by overpopulation can be incontrovertibly detrimental to local residents living in cities. The first negative impact popping in mind is that inflation will result as there is a higher demand for daily necessities. Consequently, the overall cost of living becomes higher, creating a financial burden on the residents. Overcrowding in cities also contributes to environmental problems, be it land or air pollution, posing threats to the public health. Another justification deserving our attention is that it is hard to enhance the quality of life of immigrants from rural areas. The majority of people living in rural areas move to cities in an attempt to look for more employment opportunities. However, it is usually insurmountably difficult for them to secure a job with a stable income and satisfactory working conditions because of their low education levels. In contrast, jobs with good career prospects usually require professional knowledge and qualifications in cities, making it even more challenging for rural people to move up the social ladder. While the cost of living is relatively higher in cities, it in turn puts rural residents in financial difficulty. Deplorably, the government needs to invest more resources to accommodate the needs of this disadvantaged population, ranging from education, housing, and healthcare to the social security system. Under this line of thinking, more people moving to cities and leaving the countryside undeveloped can bring a wide range of negative impacts and therefore it should be regarded as a negative development.