In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Over the past years, the rate of plane travel has been climbing up worldwide. There are several factors influencing this trend and I believe it has a positive impact on the global socioeconomic aspect. One major reason why international air travel is continually increasing is the comfort and convenience it offers to passengers. In long-distance journeys, the travel time by air is definitely shorter compared to ocean and land. In addition, airline companies offer perks for frequent flyers such as discounts and instant upgrades to first-class seats. Perhaps another significant factor influencing the increase in worldwide plane travel is globalization. International trade of goods, services and even human resources is more widely accepted than ever before and immigration protocols are less restrictive now than decades ago. This rising trend in air travel preference does not only benefit people's desire for a comfortable journey. Socioeconomically speaking, it has an immense positive contribution to the world. For instance, the boost in tourism produced more job opportunities for the people. In the Philippines, there are many Filipinos working in tourist spots and hotels because the country is open and welcomes foreign travellers. Aside from that, the availability of cheap airline tickets makes it easier for migrants to visit families across the globe. I believe this can contribute to the mental health of overseas workers who are working away from their families. In conclusion, international air travel is undeniably becoming widely accepted nowadays as it offers various opportunities for people. It has a great impact in terms of the improvement in social and economic areas globally.