In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

There are increasing numbers of people who seek the historical backgrounds of the buildings they inhabit. The reason behind this emerging phenomenon is that some people honour the sentimental value of their home as well as the effort to raise the selling price of a property, which can be done by a few measures. The reason why the community are curious about the history of their house may vary. Firstly, the value of a building is not only in the form of material but also sentimental, hence why people respect its historical background. The reason behind this is to cherish the generational stories of a place if, for instance, the building used to be their grandparents or other loved ones. Secondly, some property buyers prefer a house with valuable stories and are willing to pay more for this particular rationale. For example, a big fan of Marilyn Monroe bought a million-dollar penthouse which was initially her old residence. To obtain the historical information of a residential building, the public can easily find the information on the internet, especially at the estate agent's websites. Other than that, people can ask either their neighbours who resided there way before them or the previous generations of family members directly. That way, one can get reliable information about the home they stay in. In conclusion, the historical facet of a residence is considered sentimental for society, either to reminisce about the old story or to boost the material value for the unique property enthusiasts. Finally, society can surf the internet or question the closest person who might have an idea about the buildings' history.