Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Growing older is a natural part of our lives. While many people would view this with a pessimistic attitude, others believe that getting old would make life easier in the modern setting. In the following essay, I am going to discuss both views and state my opinion about the matter. On one hand, becoming elderly would bring many shortcomings, most notably to people’s well-being. This is due to the fact that, as individuals grow older, their immune system would degrade and thus, senior citizens would become weak and frail, as well as they are more likely to be vulnerable to diseases. Hence they require a lot of attention and need to be treated with care. For example, a mild shift in the weather conditions could result in severe illness among the elderly, and while they can recover after a short while, their health is seriously affected. On the other hand, senior citizens could have a happier life by receiving treatment from the young. To put this in a simpler way, the elderly could retire to their houses or a retirement home, both would surround them with the amenities and care needed by nurses and their family members, to ensure that the old could live as comfortably as possible. Taking individuals who would reside in a retirement home as an example, they will be assisted with daily routine by an assigned nurse and their meals, along with their health are strictly supervised so that they can stay away from sickness, while also maintaining a certain level of activeness. In conclusion, while many people believe that ageing is certainly a negative thing because of the effects it has on their health, others assume that they could live more easily owing to the care they receive from their families and specialized facilities. In my opinion, I believe while there are certainly some limits to ageing, individuals could enjoy a much simpler life