Nowadays, some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

How to spend a life after retirement is arguably one of the most crucial decisions. While some would prefer to continue to stay with their children, I firmly believe that the advantages of embarking on the second part of their lives in a new community composed of retirees should not be overlooked. To begin with, living with grown up children poses a great deal of inconvenience to those in their 60s or beyond. As their adult offspring have alreadly attained their own life perspectives and lifestyles, these can collide with their aged parents' when living together; as a result, the tension between them can eventually have a detrimental effect on the family dynamics. Moreover, as their working-age sons and daughters can hardly make time for taking care of their parents as they are already busy juggling their work with private life, the unintended indifference would only sadden their elderly parents and even depress their mood as well. On the other hand, living in a community comprising like-minded retirees who hope to enjoy their retirement can benefit them a great deal. For a start, various activities targeted for retirees provide them with physical and mental health. For example, they can be more active and social by joining a local hiking club and improving their level of fitness or participating in a book club having productive and joyful discussions. In addition, those in their golden years can benefit from the location. As most silver towns are located in the countryside, they can reconnect themselves to nature, escaping from the dreadful urban air pollution and traffic noise. In conclusion, lives in retirement communities enable those in their golden years to enjoy the rest of their peaceful lives in tranquillity and stay fit with a wide range of recreational, social activities.