Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

In this era, it is apparent that the contemporary heritage consists of diverse cultures, as well as it is logically rare to exist a pure culture. Despite cultural exchange, some argue that offspring should be taught just in their own country’s literature. However, I firmly agree with exposing children to different literature, through debating the reasons which are expressed in the following. It is universally acknowledged that there is a history and story behind every literature, and also it is undeniable that some stories have been established in different countries. Thus, if a student is being taught just by theirs, learning others’ literature would be unavoidable. On the other side, in my viewpoint, lessons and deeper appreciations of experience could be gained from fabulous international literature, such as masterpieces of Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare and War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. It goes without saying that necessities of studying provenance literature are not dropped off by studying international one. By doing so, it could give them a wide perspective of understanding in today’s globalized world. For example, it can give an insight to immigrants into the compatibility of coexisting with locals in destination, as well as connecting and having in common with them. In addition, while reading various literatures, the language skills would improve. To conclude, I totally support the reason of learning literature of their own country, but it is crucial for juveniles to be exposed to other countries too. As a result, they can be more adopted and open-minded.