Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether the advent of sophisticated modern technology such as mobile phones, laptops and iPads has helped enhance and improve people's social lives or whether the opposite has become the case. Personally, I strongly advocate the former view. This essay will discuss both sides using examples from the UK government and Oxford University to demonstrate points and prove arguments. On the one hand, there is ample, robust, almost daily evidence that such technology can be detrimental, especially to the younger generation, who are more easily affected by it is addictive nature, which can result in people feeling more isolated from society. The central reason behind this is twofold; firstly, the invention of online social media sites and apps, such as Twitter and Facebook, has reduced crucial face-to-face interactions dramatically. Through the use of these appealing and attractive mediums, people feel in touch and connected yet lack critical social skills and the ability to communicate. Secondly, dependence on such devices is built up frighteningly quickly, which may have a damaging effect on mental health and encourage a sedentary lifestyle. For example, recent scientific research by the UK government demonstrated that 90% of people in their 30s spend over 20 hours per week on Messenger and similar applications to chat with their friends instead of meeting up and spending quality time together or doing sports. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have decreased and diminished our fundamental life interactions. On the other hand, although there are significant downsides to technological developments, its’ multifold advantages cannot be denied. This is largely because the popularity of technology, such as cell phones, allows people to connect freely and easily with no geographical barriers. People can share any news, information, photos and opinions with their loved ones whenever and wherever they want, therefore keeping a feeling of proximity and closeness. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University illustrated that people who work or study abroad and use applications like Facetime and WhatsApp to chat with their families are less likely to experience loneliness and feel out of the loop than those who do not. Consistent with this line of thinking is that business people can also undoubtedly benefit from these advances by holding virtual real-time meetings using Skype, which may increase the chance of closing business deals without the need to fly. From the arguments and examples given, I firmly believe that overall communication and man’s sociability have advanced enormously due to extraordinarily enormous the enormous technological progress of the past twenty years, and despite some potentially severe health implications that governments should not fail to address, it is predicted that its popularity will continue to flourish in the future.