Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Recent technological breakthroughs have made space tourism possible with some predicting its future to be promising. However, I am of the opinion that its development is largely negative considering the financial and environmental costs even though it might be a profitable industry. The foremost rationale for my disapproval of travelling to outer space is its enormous waste of money. Jeff Bezos, for instance, spent upwards of about $300 million to experience zero gravity and a generally broader view of the Earth for only a dozen minutes. If that sum had been invested in the construction of hospitals and shelters for the poor, thousands of precious lives could have been saved. Another major concern that causes me to disapprove of space travel is its environmental damage. The total carbon footprint to fly to outer space is substantial, resulting from the burning of rocket fuel, the manufacture and maintenance of space shuttles as well as various technical facilities. Not only does this directly exacerbate air pollution but also serves as an act of discouragement to the global effort to combat climate change. Nevertheless, I acknowledge that this new industry is financially promising. As space tourists are generally wealthy, they can afford an incredibly high ticket price, making tour operating companies highly profitable. With an exceptional financial pool, these companies might invest in more sophisticated technologies such as an accurate GPS system that benefits the general public or employ more people, helping to reduce the unemployment rate. In conclusion, I believe that an increase in space tourism is mostly disadvantageous given its excessive price and impact on environmental protection although the expansion of tour companies can be beneficial economically. That is why governments should encourage these companies to divert their resources to address ongoing issues such as hunger and global warming.