In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although, some argue that individuals who are not obeying rules should be warned, others are in favour of punishment. I believe that warning should be given to minor criminals and for serious criminals punishment should be taken into the measure. The reason for giving warnings to people who committed minor crimes is that maybe some of them did that by mistake or for the first time. In this situation, punishment will be unfair and a waste of effort and government money. For example, strong warnings should be given to the individuals who smoke in a non-smoking areas, park in permitted areas and are not following traffic rules rather than punishing them. It is a totally different case in major crimes. Warning in these cases is not enough for the offenders because after that they may repeat a offence. For example, if a person commits a serious offence like fraud, assault and murder and he/she only gets warned then there are high chance of repeating that again because it becomes easier for them to escape after committing a major crime. Hence, punishment is the right way to teach a lesson to the major criminals. To conclude, I believe that warning should be given to the first time or petty offenders, however, repeated crimes or felony offenders punishment should be taken into the measure.