In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of the automotive industry, more driverless cars will be seen in the future and drivers will not be necessary. In my view, I agree that this trend will bring more benefits to us than its drawbacks. Granted, the development of driverless cars will bring some problems to individuals and governments. From a personal perspective, driverless autos will threaten the position of buses and trucks drivers, which means the unemployment of these employees so they must find a new occupation to maintain their families. From a societal perspective, the construction of infrastructure which adapts to driverless cars will consume numerous national budgets, so the local government will have heavy financial stress. As a result, governments have to raise the tax ratio to cover the expenditure of this construction, leading the public dissatisfaction. However, reaching the above conclusion does not necessarily mean that the advantages of driverless cars can be ignored. For one thing, this technology will enhance the efficiency of transportation because cars ’ routes will be directed by the algorithm which will give the best method to reach the destination. For another thing, with the help of computers and sensors, driverless cars can sustain higher safety than humans, because machines cannot feel fatigued and can ceaselessly monitor the condition of the road. Take Tesla cars, for example, these autos can quickly brake and stop if their sensors sense the obstacles ahead to protect the safety of passengers. To summarize, while the development of driverless cars will bring some problems, I still believe the advantages of this technique outweigh its drawbacks considering its benefits on transportation efficiency and safety.