Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With the growth of technology the use time of gadgets, such as smartphones, has increased significantly. However, overindulging in the usage of such a device, which is common in youngsters, might cause health problems. Thus, it is extremely important that control measures are taken by parents to avoid these issues. Although these overusings are conducted by young people who are not fully aware of these irreversible health-related effects and can lead to lots of problems, I firmly believe they are quite beneficial if using them is limited. In this modern time in which almost all devices are combined into one gadget, it is not surprising that they would be overused. Several decades ago, every piece of technology had a separate body and was in need of its own treatment, like the Radio, TV or even the Telephone; however, now within this contemporary era, these devices are all combined in one gadget called "smartphone", which is able to carry on any duty that anybody wants. Consequently, if you want a Radio it is just a finger tab away from you, as a matter of fact, the whole world is at your fingertips. Despite all the possibilities and advantages that a smartphone can bring with itself, this gadget comes with negative points too. For example, according to " Statictica ", an institution which offers statistic about diseases amongst other reports, the number of children who suffers from eye conditions has tripled during the last 10 years. This problem is referred to as one of the side effects of playing Video games aggressively, as announced by Statictica. In conclusion, it is clear that using smartphones can be harmful but they can be extremely beneficial, as long as their usage is strict.