Some people think that poverty is the reason for most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Poverty is an increasing problem that affects both, developing and developed nations and many people believe that it is because of this that the crime rate is increasing. Although poverty plays a role in it, it is not solely responsible. I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. As mentioned earlier, Poverty is something that affects all nations, and because of this, there are sections of society that resort to crimes such as theft and pickpocketing to earn a living. To make matters worse, others prey on the desperation of the poor, to achieve their personal goals. For example, in South Africa, rival factions control the streets of the major cities and they resort to drug smuggling, extortion, and other misdemeanours to get by. However, poverty is not the only cause for criminal activity. Many of the online crimes, committed are done by professionals who wish to either bring down a company or rob major corporations of their millions, for easy cash. For example, a couple of months ago, Russian cyber gangs targeted major corporations demanding $70 million in Bitcoin. Furthermore, the influential members of society also participate in this activity, not only for the lure of easy cash but also because they are aware that they can get away with it. An example of this would be the gold smuggling cases which occurred in Trivandrum at the beginning of the year. In conclusion, Poverty cannot be solely pegged as the main cause of criminal activity. Instead, it is the lure of instant rewards that leads an individual down this road, and I believe this is the main reason for the increase in crime.