In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays, in some regions, there are numerous citizens who are fascinated in delving into the history of their dwellings. This essay will demonstrate the principal cause of these issues and several ways that people can take for gaining information. Potential financial gains, the desire for convenient living and safety assurance serve as possible reason of these issues. Exploring the history of their houses can be done by online searching, seeking for public records, and inquiring neighbours to obtain more information. The pursuit of safety assurance, cozy living and potential for investment opportunities stand as prominent factors leading to the increased interest in exploring a residence’s history. People want to acknowledge when the house was built, who the prior owner was, what materials were used to build the house. This factor will demonstrate the strength of the building and reassure the sense of safety. Cozy living is also one of the aspects that should be considered before purchasing a home, it is related to whether the house was haunted or not. Simultaneously, the historical value of a building is often linked to its financial worth. In addition, over the decade the property price experienced a significant increase. To illustrate, the average house prices in Jakarta ten years ago was 200 million rupiahs, however, its price will become ten multiples in 2024. Employing various research methods, such as engaging with previous occupants and utilizing online sources, can assist in uncovering the history of the building. Numerous websites provide historical information about buildings in specific areas. As an illustration, building permit records for all Minneapolis houses and buildings, from 1995- 2010 are provided in hennepin library website. These cards record including original construction, alteration and improvement. Moreover, neighbors, especially elderly, can give information about what kind of incidents had happened in that house. For example, there have been murder incidents in the past decades. Next, the crucial problems that usually happen are the legality of the house and tax. For this case, online resources and public records serve as tools for verifying the information. In conclusion, the growing interest in the history of homes is driven by a desire for safety assurance, cozy living and potential investment returns. By conducting research about the history of their homes through online resources, public records, and nearby residents, people can obtain valuable insights into the people and events that have shaped their homes over the years.