Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that the right place to teach children how to become good citizens is the school, while others argue that parents should be the ones responsible for that. Although parents might influence their children more than anyone else, I believe that educational institutions are more trained and properly equipped to teach children how to become successful members of the community. Parents have the biggest impact on their kids. This is due the fact that children spend most of time with their mothers and fathers which dramatically influences the way kids act and think. If parents behave well and have an example of healthy habits, children will directly imitate them. This confirms the fact that no one might exert such a strong influence on their children. For instance, a study in Britain showed that children are two times more influenced by their parents than their teachers. However, I strongly believe that this is not enough and that school should be the place teaching children to become a good people in society. Schools are trained how to build a good citizen. Teachers spent their undergraduate years studying how to deal with children and train them to become better individuals in their communities. For this reason, educational institutions should be the place where children can safely acquire the needed behaviours to become better individuals in the future. For example, a recent study in the USA showed that 90% of schools train teachers how to help students to become better citizens. For this reason, I believe that the best place to do this is the school. In conclusion, although parents have a strong influence on their children, I believe that the best place to create better citizens is the school because tutors are trained to do that.