Some people think printed paper newspapers are not needed anymore. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this view?

In today’s digital age, there is a debate over whether traditional paper newspapers are still relevant for people these days or not. While I personally think that the internet has already displaced the printed version of newspapers, there are still some people who prefer the latter for its convenience and authenticity. The advances in technology and the internet as a whole have revolutionised the way we receive news. People no longer have to wait for weeks to get to know what is happening in the world, as they now can find anything online at any given time. Moreover, TV and the internet enable us to select what information and news we want to learn more about. Such benefits of our modern technology save us both our time and money, therefore leading us to the conclusion of never using printed newspapers again. However, some people, particularly the elderly still opt for the conventional way of receiving news for two main reasons, one of which is linked to the convenience and comfort they offer. Without a basic understanding of technology, most old people find it difficult and unpleasant to read news online and prefer to read it at hand. Additionally, my grandmother is a good case in point. She uses the subscription-based type of “Karachi” newspaper and gets paper newspapers every Monday due to her lack of technical abilities. On top of this, printed newspapers are still valuable thanks to their validity and reliability. Unlike online news platforms and websites, where misinformation is widespread, paper newspapers are mostly published by authentic corporations who work under the permission and control of the government. In this way, individuals will avoid fake data which is so widespread in today's broadcasting system. In conclusion, despite the worldwide online access to all sorts of news, some news recipients still use printed newspapers for safety and comfort-related purposes. Thus, I am of the view that paper newspapers should remain, regardless of how sophisticated news applications and websites become.